About us

What we are

Film Otago Southland is a not-for-profit Trust supporting screen production in the region in collaboration with the Queenstown Lakes and Dunedin film offices.

Our region covers the districts of: Queenstown Lakes, Dunedin, Southland, Central Otago, Waitaki and Clutha.


What we do

Our job is to: stimulate regional economic growth by attracting, facilitating and marketing screen productions; develop the sector for regional business; maximise opportunities for regional film professionals; and assist with policy development.


Brokering enduring good relations


Celebrating Otago-Southland on screen


Foregrounding local film professionals


Cutting through the red tape for you

Add Value

Stimulating regional economic growth


Partnering regional location guardians

Trust Board

Film Otago Southland is a Trust funded by contributing regional councils and other organisations, as follows: Queenstown Lakes District Council, Dunedin City Council, Great South, Southern Institute of Technology (SIT), Central Otago District Council and Waitaki District Council.
The Trust acts as a point of coordination for filming activity within the region, striving to maximise the economic benefits of this activity, while raising Otago Southland’s profile as a world-class location in which to do business. 

Current Trustees for 2022 are:

Brad Hurndell - Chair
Stephen Canny - Great South
Fraser Liggett - Dunedin City Council
Hamish Small - Southern Institute of Technology
Calum MacLeod - Queenstown Lakes District Council
Paula Jalfon - Industry
Scott McDonald - Industry
Rebecca Rowe - Industry
Annie Weston - Industry
Nicola Macallan - Industry

Get in touch

Film Otago Southland is funded and endorsed by

Receive our quarterly newsletter